Enrol into any of our GAMSAT courses and get access to weekly GAMSAT tutoring session, running every Wednesday Night!

University of Sydney medicine

18 min read | Read 9 times

University of Sydney medicine is the Doctor of Medicine at Sydney Medical School. This page explains the USyd Doctor of Medicine, the University of Sydney medicine entry requirements, the USyd GAMSAT ® cut-off, and the USyd medicine application. The Doctor of Dental Medicine is a separate Sydney degree. A standalone medical science degree is a separate course as well. Sydney prints dates, fees, the GPA hurdle, the GAMSAT ® minimum, and the eligible sittings in the admissions guide for each intake. The university says those statements will not be correct for a later application period, and it can change the criteria without notice. Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 .

  1. The USyd Doctor of Medicine
  2. University of Sydney medicine entry requirements
  3. The USyd GAMSAT ® cut-off
  4. The USyd medicine application
  5. School-leaver double degrees
  6. University of Sydney medicine FAQs
Promotional ad image displayed on GAMSAT hero pages and blog posts. Upload via PageAssets admin. Set click-through URL on the asset edit screen.

The USyd Doctor of Medicine

The USyd Doctor of Medicine is a four-year, master's-level degree. The 2027 domestic admissions guide gives it CRICOS code 079216J. There are two ways in. Most applicants finish a bachelor's degree and then apply for the four-year MD. A small school-leaver route uses a seven-year double degree, covered further down. The Australian Medical Council lists Sydney Medical School's Doctor of Medicine as an accredited primary medical program, with accreditation to 31 March 2029. The university states that the degree is fully accredited by the Medical Board of Australia. Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 , Source: AMC accredited medical schools , and Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine .

Teaching is in person. The admissions guide states that remote study is not available. Clinical contact starts as early as the second week, through Sydney's clinical schools. Year 3 includes a 14-week research project. Year 4 is a pre-internship year in hospital and community settings. Students can take a four-to-eight-week clinical or research placement overseas in the elective term, and there are rural placement options as well as placements in Sydney. A biomedical science degree is not required. The path from this degree through internship to general registration is covered in how to become a doctor in Australia . Sydney's place among the other Australian programs, including Notre Dame's Sydney medical school and Western Sydney University , is on the Australian medical schools directory. Published rankings of Australian medical degrees are on the MD ranking page. Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 and Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine .

Metropolitan Sydney and the Dubbo stream

The MD is offered as a Metropolitan stream, based in Sydney, and a Dubbo stream. The Dubbo stream was developed under the Australian Government's Murray-Darling Medical Schools Network. It is taught at the School of Rural Health in Dubbo, with clinical teaching centred on Dubbo Hospital. The university's medicine pages state that the Dubbo stream is for domestic applicants. Applicants can ask to be considered for both streams. Sydney makes no more than one MD offer, and an offer in one stream ends consideration for the other. Transfer between the streams is not permitted. Dubbo offers start with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander applicants and rural applicants who have the highest rank, after a satisfactory personal statement and any interview the stream requires. The statement and interview are part of the application, below. Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 and Source: University of Sydney, How to become a doctor .

University of Sydney medicine entry requirements

Domestic graduate applicants need an eligible bachelor's degree with the GPA hurdle calculated by the Universities Admissions Centre (UAC), an eligible GAMSAT ® result, and the university's English language requirement at the time of application. The Indigenous Facilitated Entry Scheme is the exception to the GAMSAT ® requirement, described below. The domestic guide prints the GPA hurdle for standard applicants and a lower hurdle for rural applicants. It also prints the minimum score required in each section of the GAMSAT ®. Use the guide for the intake you are applying to. How other graduate-entry schools combine GPA and GAMSAT ®, including schools that share the GEMSAS application, is on medical school entry requirements . Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 .

The bachelor degree and the GPA hurdle

The qualifying award is a bachelor's degree of at least three years full-time equivalence. An Australian degree needs to be a pass degree at Level 7 of the Australian Qualifications Framework, or an honours degree at Level 8, from an Australian university or self-accrediting institution. An overseas bachelor's degree can qualify when Australia's National Information Centre recognises it as equivalent to an Australian bachelor's degree. At least two years full-time of that bachelor's degree must be completed at the awarding institution. The degree has to be finished by 1 January of the year the MD starts, including for an accelerated program. The guide says an exchange, study-abroad semester, or summer school in the second half of the application year can push completion past that date. Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 .

If the bachelor's degree was completed more than 10 years before that 1 January, the guide asks for something more recent as well: a postgraduate diploma or degree of at least one year full-time, a postgraduate research degree, or sustained research productivity in a medicine and health discipline. Dubbo applicants can also rely on a sustained contribution to rural, regional, or remote health care. In that situation the GPA still comes from the bachelor's degree. A postgraduate qualification extends eligibility. It does not replace the bachelor GPA. Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 .

UAC calculates the GPA through its Qualifications Assessment Service, inside the window in that year's admissions timeline. A statement from outside the window, or from a previous year, is not accepted. Where someone has more than one eligible bachelor's degree, UAC uses the degree that meets the hurdle or produces the higher GPA. An extra research honours year can be included. Integrated honours is calculated from the results in the bachelor's degree. In a combined degree, every unit counts, and the guide does not allow the units to be split so that one half of the degree is assessed alone. Once the published GPA hurdle is met, the guide ranks offers on admissions-test results and any extra criteria for that pathway. The hurdle itself is an eligibility rule. The figure for the intake is in the guide. Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 .

Assumed knowledge on entry is anatomy, physiology, and molecular and cellular biology. These are not prerequisite subjects, and a biomedical science degree is not required. After enrolment, every student completes an online Foundation Knowledge Course and an integrated self-assessment, whatever the prior degree. The guide also describes a pre-medical course, offered in December, for applicants without a health sciences background. Offer letters carry the detail. Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 and Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine .

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander applicants

From the 2027 intake, the domestic guide waives the GAMSAT ® for applicants using the Indigenous Facilitated Entry Scheme. Proof of Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander identity follows the university's confirmation policy: a sealed letter from a land council or an incorporated Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander organisation, or a statutory declaration where records are not available. A receipt of Abstudy is not accepted as that proof. The document is uploaded with the Sydney Student application. Without it, the guide says the application may be assessed as a standard application. Contact details for Indigenous health support are in the guide. Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 .

Applicants with a bachelor's degree, or in the final year of one, are considered on that degree. The two-year rule, about study at the awarding institution, is waived. UAC still calculates the GPA. The guide states a preferred GPA and says the Indigenous Admissions Advisory Group may recommend an applicant below that preferred GPA where tertiary results have improved, particularly in the final year. An interview may be required. A second scheme is for applicants whose recent qualification is a master's degree or a PhD, completed within three years before 1 January of the MD year. That scheme does not require a Level 7 bachelor's degree. UAC calculates a GPA on the tertiary studies, the guide sets the GPA used for that scheme, and the same advisory group may consider a lower GPA where results have improved. Those applicants submit a resumé and may be interviewed. The pre-medical course is strongly recommended for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander applicants without a health sciences background. Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 .

Rural origin applicants

A rural facilitated pathway is open to domestic applicants who have lived for at least five years in a row, or at least 10 years in total, from birth, in an area the Australian Statistical Geography Standard (Edition 3) classes as Inner Regional, Outer Regional, Remote, or Very Remote Australia. Time in Major Cities does not count. Sydney assesses this inside the application and does not offer a pre-assessment. The guide sets which addresses count, including boarding school and a university college, and who can confirm that residence. The GPA hurdle for rural applicants is the lower figure printed in the guide. Rural origin also affects the order of Dubbo offers, described above. Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 .

The USyd GAMSAT ® cut-off

Sydney ranks eligible applicants on each GAMSAT ® section. The domestic guide states that overall scores and average scores are not used, and that the university does not disclose how it ranks section scores. It prints a minimum score for each section. Applicants who meet the GPA hurdle and the required GAMSAT ® threshold are invited to an online confirmation page. Threshold scores from previous years are irrelevant to the current cycle and will not be published or provided. The minimum for the intake is in the guide. Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 .

From 2024, the guide uses section names as well as the older numbers. Reasoning in Humanities and Social Sciences replaced Section 1, Written Communication replaced Section 2, and Reasoning in Biology and Physical Sciences replaced Section 3. What those sections measure, and what an overall score or a percentile means, is explained in GAMSAT ® scores . How to prepare for the three sections is covered in GAMSAT ® preparation . Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 .

For a Sydney application, a result has to fall inside the window the guide sets for that intake. For the 2027 intake the guide requires results from the past two years. It says this applies despite contrary advice from ACER, and that the two-year rule may change. The guide names the eligible sittings. Results from more than one of those sittings can be supplied. Sydney assesses each eligible sitting and uses the sitting with the highest-ranking outcome. Section scores from different sittings cannot be mixed. A result from a test after the guide's cut-off date is not considered, and the guide asks applicants not to send late results. The named sittings, and the dates around them, belong to that intake's guide and timeline. Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 .

Start Your GAMSAT ®
Preparation Today!



GAMSAT ®
Free Trial

GAMSAT ®
Courses

The USyd medicine application

The USyd medicine application is made to the University of Sydney, online, through Sydney Student. Only online applications are accepted, and an application after the deadline is not considered. The University of Sydney is not on the GEMSAS list of participating medical schools . Notre Dame's Sydney program is on that list. A GEMSAS application covers the participating schools. It leaves the University of Sydney to its own form, its own timeline, and its own guide. Source: GEMSAS medical schools and Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 .

Domestic applicants take three steps, on the dates in the admissions timeline . First they apply to UAC for a Qualifications Assessment Service statement at UAC's QAS , inside the designated window. UAC charges a fee. The amount, and the window, are in the guide and the timeline. The QAS number is nine digits and starts with 932, and it has to be entered on the Sydney form. An applicant who is also applying for the Doctor of Dental Medicine needs only one QAS statement. Second, they lodge the Sydney Student application and submit the documents the form asks for, including every eligible GAMSAT ® sitting, and they declare any earlier medical study, exclusion or suspension, or professional-conduct matter. Third, applicants who meet the GPA hurdle and the GAMSAT ® threshold are invited to an online confirmation page. On that page they confirm the UAC GPA and choose place and stream preferences. If the GPA looks wrong, the guide says to contact UAC immediately. The faculty then matches the Sydney file with the QAS statement and checks that the application is complete. Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 .

Dubbo applicants also submit a personal statement on the university's template, showing interest, intention, and aptitude for rural and regional practice. They may be interviewed. For applicants outside the Indigenous scheme, interview selection uses the admissions test and the statement, and the interview contributes to the Dubbo ranking. On the standard metropolitan pathway, offers are ranked on admissions-test results. If applicants are ranked equally, Sydney can use an extra tool, such as an interview or a situational judgement test, and it gives notice of that. Most other Australian medical schools use a multiple mini interview for a much larger share of selection. Station format for those interviews is in the guide to MMIs . Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 .

Offers follow the preference order confirmed online. Sydney keeps separate ranking lists for place types, including Metropolitan Commonwealth supported places, Metropolitan bonded places, and Dubbo Commonwealth supported places. If a place type has filled, the next preferred place type can be offered. A student who has started the MD in a bonded place cannot transfer to a non-bonded place in that program. Place types, fees, and scholarships are on the Doctor of Medicine course page . The national Bonded Medical Program is separate from Sydney's rural pathway. That difference, across Australian schools, is explained in the Australian medical schools directory. An applicant who had already finished the bachelor's degree, and has supplied the documents, can receive an unconditional offer. An applicant still finishing the degree, or still gathering documents, can receive a conditional offer. A conditional offer is withdrawn if the final GPA misses the hurdle, the degree is unfinished at 1 January of the start year, or the documents miss the deadline. Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 .

The guide also sets some hard stops. An applicant who will not have an eligible bachelor's degree by 1 January of the start year is ineligible, even with a postgraduate qualification, aside from the Indigenous postgraduate scheme. Someone who applied unsuccessfully to this MD and then started postgraduate medicine at another university is ineligible. Someone who accepted a Sydney MD offer and then failed to finish the documents, or withdrew without approval, can be ineligible for two years. No one is admitted with advanced standing or credit, and Sydney does not exempt a student from part of the program. Deferral rules are on the course page. The guide asks applicants to be ready to start in the year they applied. Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 .

After an offer is accepted, students complete the Foundation Knowledge Course and the checks required before clinical placements. The guide points to NSW Health compliance checks , a first-aid certificate in English, and the inherent requirements for medicine . Students also have to meet the faculty's professionalism requirements. Questions about disability and adjustments go to the faculty admissions office in the first instance. Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine domestic admissions guide 2027 .

International applicants

International applicants use the separate international admissions guide . That guide accepts the GAMSAT ® or the MCAT, sets the minimum for each, and names the eligible GAMSAT ® sittings. It uses the same approach to the GAMSAT ®: section scores rather than an overall or average score, every eligible result supplied, and the sitting with the highest-ranking outcome selected. The Dubbo stream is for domestic applicants. English language requirements apply. Fees and place information for international students are on the course page and in that guide. Source: University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine international admissions guide 2027 and Source: University of Sydney, How to become a doctor .

School-leaver double degrees

School leavers can enter University of Sydney medicine through a seven-year double degree: the Bachelor of Arts and Doctor of Medicine, or the Bachelor of Science and Doctor of Medicine. Each is a three-year bachelor's degree followed by the four-year MD. UAC lists the program for current Year 12 applicants and says approximately 30 domestic and 10 international places may be offered. Admission uses the selection rank for domestic applicants, or the ATAR for international applicants, plus a written assessment and an interview. UAC publishes the indicative rank for the intake. The assessment days are on the UAC course page, they are not negotiable, and an eligible Year 12 candidate attends the first assessment day after ATAR results. An applicant is considered only for the first intake after those final results. Source: UAC, Double Degree Medicine, University of Sydney and Source: University of Sydney, How to become a doctor .

Progression into the MD depends on the course rules, including a zero-credit-point medicine unit during the bachelor's degree. Students who meet those rules start the MD without the GAMSAT ®, without the UCAT ®, and without the graduate selection process. The science double degree has an optional Medical Science stream inside that bachelor's degree. That stream is part of this double degree. It is not a standalone medical science course, and it is not a separate way into the graduate MD. Source: UAC, Double Degree Medicine, University of Sydney .

The university's medicine pages also describe equity pathways for this double degree, including Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander applicants, the Regional and Remote Entry Scheme, and MySydney, each with its own indicative rank. UAC describes the Gadigal Program separately: a UAC application plus a direct university application, an indicative ATAR printed on the UAC page, a written assessment and a panel discussion, and up to five places. Undergraduate medicine at most other Australian universities uses the UCAT ® for medicine . How a UCAT ® result is reported is on UCAT ® scores . Source: University of Sydney, How to become a doctor and Source: UAC, Double Degree Medicine, University of Sydney .

The domestic and international guides used here are the 2027 editions. The university says the details can change, and that an older page can describe an earlier cycle. For the year you apply, use the guide and the timeline linked from the Doctor of Medicine course page for dates, fees, the GPA hurdle, the GAMSAT ® minimum, and the eligible sittings. School-leaver ranks and assessment days stay on the UAC course page.

University of Sydney medicine FAQs

Is the University of Sydney MD part of GEMSAS?

GEMSAS lists the graduate-entry schools that share its application. The University of Sydney is absent from that list. Notre Dame's Sydney medical school is a different program and is on the list. Sydney applicants lodge a Sydney Student application and a UAC qualifications assessment, on the dates in Sydney's own timeline.

What is the USyd GAMSAT cut-off?

Sydney ranks each GAMSAT ® section and does not use an overall or average score. The admissions guide prints the minimum in each section for that intake. Applicants who meet the GPA hurdle and the required GAMSAT ® threshold are invited to a confirmation page. Sydney does not disclose how it ranks section scores, and it will not provide threshold scores from previous years.

Does the University of Sydney interview for medicine?

On the standard metropolitan pathway, offers are ranked on admissions-test results. Sydney can add an interview or a situational judgement test if applicants are ranked equally, and it gives notice. Dubbo applicants submit a personal statement and may be interviewed, and that interview can count toward the Dubbo rank. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander applicants may also be interviewed. The school-leaver double degrees use a written assessment and an interview, which is a different process from the graduate MD.

Can I apply to Sydney medicine without a science degree?

Yes. The domestic guide says a biomedical science degree is not required, and it welcomes bachelor's degrees from a wide range of fields. Assumed knowledge is anatomy, physiology, and molecular and cellular biology. After enrolment, every student completes a Foundation Knowledge Course and a self-assessment. A pre-medical course is also described for applicants without a health sciences background.

How long is the USyd Doctor of Medicine?

The graduate Doctor of Medicine is four years and is taught in person. Clinical contact can start in the second week, year 3 includes a 14-week research project, and year 4 is a pre-internship year. The school-leaver double degrees are seven years: a three-year bachelor's degree, then the same four-year MD.

How recent does a GAMSAT result need to be for Sydney?

For the 2027 intake, the domestic guide requires a result from the past two years and names the eligible sittings. It says this applies despite contrary advice from ACER, and that the two-year rule may change. Supply every eligible sitting. Sydney uses the sitting with the highest-ranking outcome and does not mix section scores from different sittings.

Do school leavers sit the UCAT for University of Sydney medicine?

The seven-year Arts or Science and Doctor of Medicine degrees do not use the UCAT ® or the GAMSAT ® to enter the MD, once the bachelor's-degree progression rules are met. Entry at that school-leaver point uses the indicative rank UAC publishes, plus a written assessment and an interview. Places are limited. UAC says about 30 domestic and 10 international places may be offered.